Inspiring Excellence


As you may be aware A-levels and GCSE examination are about to change – both in content and in how the grades will be reported. However, by the time your child will be taking GCSEs (2020 or 2021!) these changes will have been fully embedded. This means that the following pages show the curriculum content we currently provide.

In addition, the new National Curriculum does not have levels instead schools are expected to report on student progress against centrally set targets.


  • In 2018 new GCSEs grading started in most subjects
  • The new grading scheme uses the numbers 1 to 9, 9 being the highest grade.
Current Grade New Grade Comment
A* 9
Half the percentage that were awarded an A*
A 7
B 6
5 Internationally benchmarked; 1/2 to 2/3 above a C
C 4 In 2017, Grade 4 will be set so that proportions will be about the same as previously achieved grade C
D 3
E 2
F 1


  • In 2018 the new A-levels started in mathematics
  • The content will be more demanding and sciences and geography will have a greater mathematical content

More details about the changes can be found on the Ofqual web-site.

Regardless of the changes our values remain constant and our commitment to providing an outstanding relevant education for the whole child unwavering.

Progress 8 is a new measure of school performance. It replaces the previous measure of 5A*-C including English and maths, and shows how well pupils of all abilities .